Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 3rd, 2017

2017…A Brand New Year!

WHAT DOES IT MEAN TO GET IT RIGHT?

A brand New Year…a frightening reminder of our mortality and what lies ahead? Or another wonderful chance to maybe get it right this year.

For each of us, getting it right will have a very different connotation.

For some, it’ll be to lose those nagging twenty pounds, find a better job that pays more, or maybe forge a better relationship with children, grandchildren or a spouse.

For me, a Christian who has tried all of those before with varying levels of success, my only goal for the coming year is to forge a closer relationship with God.

At my ripe old age, I’ve finally realized I can do nothing without His help. I have tried to use my wit, my intellect, my talents, and my abundant charm to achieve my dreams. But all of those have failed me.

Only when I start the day in communication with the Lord, and then quietly listen to what He has to say, do I succeed.

We’re all so busy, and maybe that’s how life is supposed to be. But each night during 2017 I want to lay my head on the pillow and give thanks that I am not running in circles on a path to oblivion.

I am His child, and He has a plan for me. I am so thankful!

I certainly wish I’d gotten this through my thick head as a younger woman.

Happy New Year and May God bless you in 2017.

Mary Ellis

PRAYER FOR THE NEW YEAR

Lord, make me an instrument of Your peace. Where there is hatred, let me sow love; where there is injury, pardon; where there is doubt, faith; where there is despair, hope; where there is darkness, light; where there is sadness, joy.

O, Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console; to be understood as to understand; to be loved as to love; For it is in giving that we receive; it is in pardoning that we are pardoned; it is in dying that we are born again to eternal life.

—Prayer of St. Francis of Assisi

Read Full Post »